~ Owner Sean Novack was introduced to firearms at age 5 by his father, an Army Ranger with three tours in Vietnam and 30 years on the Minneapolis Police Department
~Sean has been a firearms instructor since 1999 and was among the first instructors in Minnesota to be certified to teach the Permit to Carry class in 2004
~Before founding TFT LLC Sean worked in the security, personal protection, and private detective industry for 15 years
~Sean has been a vocal advocate of Second Amendment rights for decades, lobbying at and testifying before the Minnesota Legislature on gun laws in Minnesota as an expert witness.
~Templar Firearms Training LLC is approved by the State of Minnesota to train and certify Permit to Carry our own instructors.
~Templar Firearms Training LLC is Insured by Lockton Affinity Insurance LLC of Overland Park, Kansas
~Templar Firearms Training LLC is Accredited with an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau
~ Templar Firearms Training is a proud member of the Anoka Area Chamber of Commerce, where Sean sits on the Board of Directors and on the Executive Board as Treasurer.
~ Templar Firearms Training LLC is an Official Partner of the United States Concealed Carry Association
Name Instructor Number
Sean Novack #001
Cheryl Novack #002
Mike James #006
Steven Walker #007
Contact us if you would like to get certified!
Templar Firearms Training strongly recommends a live interactive class rather than a purely online class.
Don't take chances on not learning the law properly!
MN 624.714 states that in order to carry a handgun one must obtain a permit to carry a firearm. (A Permit to Carry is also a valid Permit to Purchase a Firearm, and is valid for 5 years instead of 1).
Step one is to attend a class with a state approved instructor.
Step two is to complete a live-fire exercise with an approved instructor
Once these steps are completed you will be issued a Certificate of Completion that you will need to take in person to the sheriff in your County of residence. The Certificate of Completion is valid for 12 months from date of issue.
The Sheriff will take a copy of your Certificate and a copy of your Photo ID, and ask you to fill out the standard Minnesota Permit To Carry Application Form. By law the Sheriff is allowed to charge up to $100 for a fee. They then have 30 days to approve or deny your permit application. A Criminal, Mental Health history, and Substance Abuse history check will be completed during this time.